DEPARTMENT OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND DEVELOPMENTAL DISABILITIES REGIONAL ADVISORY COUNCIL

Board Established by: State

Description:

In the 2015-2016 Regular Session, House Bill 512 changed the name of the "Planning Board" to the "Advisory Council." On December 4, 2002, the Fulton County Board of Commissioners passed a Resolution at its Regular Meeting (Item #02-1336) to change the name of the Mental Health/Mental Retardation/Substance Abuse Regional Board to the Department of Mental Health, Developmental Disabilities, and Addictive Diseases. Also, the state regional board system has been redesigned, and the new body is the Metro Mental Health, Developmental Disabilities, and Addictive Disease Planning Board.

There was created a Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Disabilities. The powers, functions, and duties of the Department of Human Resources as they existed on June 30, 2009, relating to the Division of Mental Health, Developmental Disabilities, and Addictive Diseases are transferred to the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Disabilities effective July 1, 2009.

The State of Georgia, pursuant to O.C.G.A § 37-2-6.4, has allowed counties to elect to provide mental health services through the county government, Fulton County Government currently has an entity designated as a mental health, mental retardation, substance abuse community service board which acts solely as an advisory body to the Fulton County Government on issues relating to the provision of mental health services.

Membership/Appointment:

Fulton County having a population of more than 50,000 according to the United States decennial census of 1990 or any future such census shall appoint one member for each population increment of 50,000 or any portion thereof. All appointees must be Fulton County residents. To comply with the intent of H.B. 100, at least seven (7) appointees are consumers of disability services and family members of such consumers. As defined by H.B. 100, a "consumer" is a person who has been or who is currently a recipient of disability services. A "disability" is: (1) an illness; (2) retardation or other neurologically handicapping condition, which requires treatment similar to that for the mentally retarded; and (3) abuse/addiction/dependence upon alcohol, narcotics, or other drugs. H.B. 100 also requires that appointments reflect the cultural and social characteristics of the regional population, including gender, race, ethnic, and age characteristics.

Term:

Members of the Council shall be appointed for a period of three (3) years. A member may serve no more than two (2) consecutive terms on the council. Initially, members shall be appointed for staggered terms. Some members will be appointed for three years, some for two, and others for one year. Any council member who serves an initial term of less than three years may be eligible to be reappointed for two consecutive three-year terms.

Compensation: NONE Stipend:

Meetings: The Council will meet not less than every two months from July 1 through June 30, which would

be at least six meetings. The council may decide to have more frequent regular meetings and

may also find it necessary to call emergency meetings occasionally.

Contact(s): Ruth Coody, Council Assistant

DBHDD - Region 3 Field Office Georgia Regional Hospital at Atlanta 3073 Panthersville Road, Bldg. 10 Decatur, Georgia 30034

Direct Line: 404-244-5072 Office: 404-244-5050 ruth.coody@dbhdd.ga.gov

	MEMBER	APPOINTMENT	TERM ENDING
1	David Ake	Member 1 Nominated By: Commissioner Bob Ellis	8/1/2026
2	Elizabeth K Bolton-Harris	Member 2 Nominated By: Commissioner Khadijah Abdur-Rahman	8/1/2023
3	Anthony Clifford Jackson	Member 13 Nominated By: Chairman John H. Eaves	8/1/2019
4	Lasonya Jackson	Member 18 Nominated By: Commissioner Marvin S. Arrington	8/1/2020
5	Dr. Raushanna Johnson Verwayne	MEMBER 11 Nominated By: Chairman John H. Eaves	8/1/2018
6	Sunita Joshi	Member 14 Nominated By: Chairman Robert L. Pitts	8/1/2022
7	Urmil "Tracy" Marshall	Member 16 Nominated By: Chairman Robert L. Pitts	8/1/2022
8	Tara Miller	Member 6 Nominated By: Commissioner Khadijah Abdur-Rahman	8/1/2024
9	Cathy Murphy	Member 17 Nominated By: Commissioner Liz Hausmann	8/1/2025