FULTON COUNTY BOARD OF ZONING APPEALS

Board Established by: County

Description:

The Board of Zoning Appeals was established by the Board of Commissioners on July 25, 1979 (item #6). This Board hears appeals of zoning cases and makes final decisions for approval or denial; cases heard by this Board can only be appealed to the Superior Court of Fulton County. The Fulton County Board of Zoning Appeals shall adopt and publish policies, procedures and rules in keeping with the provisions of this resolution. Such shall be available in the Environment and Community Development Department.

At the July 10, 2024 First Regular Meeting, the Fulton County Board of Commissioners adopted an Ordinance (#24-0488) amending Chapter 101 (General Provisions and County Governing Authority), Article 2 (County Governing Authority), Division I (Generally), to create a new Section 101-76 of the Fulton County Code of Laws to provide procedures for District and Full Board appointments to the Boards, Commissions, Taskforces, Committees, Councils and Authorities affiliated with, or operating on behalf of Fulton County, Georgia, to provide that all appointees serve at the pleasure of either the nominating Commissioner for District appointments or the Board of Commissioners for Full Board appointments.

Membership/Appointment:

Increased to seven (7) members July 25, 1979. All members are appointed by the Board of Commissioners. The Fulton County Board of Zoning Appeals shall elect one of its members as the Chairperson, who shall serve for one year or until he/she is re-elected or his/her successor is elected. The Fulton County Zoning Administrator shall be the Secretary. (See Fulton County Code, Section 28-1-25).

Pursuant to Resolution #15-0148, adopted by the Board of Commissioners on February 18, 2015, the appointment process for the Fulton County Board of Zoning Appeals consists of the following amendments to the Resolution creating the seven (7) member Fulton County Board of Zoning Appeals, as adopted upon approval of Item 5 at the Recess Meeting of the Fulton County Board of Commissioners on July 25, 1979, as codified in Article XXII, of the Fulton County Zoning Resolution in Section 14.1 and at Article III of the Fulton County Code at Section 58-80(b):

The Fulton County Board of Zoning Appeals (or as hereinafter may be called the Board) shall consist of seven (7) members appointed by the Board of Commissioners of Fulton County. The term of each member shall coincide with that of the District Commissioner who appointed the member to serve on the Board of Zoning Appeals. Any vacancy in the membership shall be filled for the unexpired term in the same manner as the initial appointment. Members shall be removable for cause by the Board of Commissioners of Fulton County upon written charges and after public hearing. The members of the Board shall be compensated as fixed by the Board of Commissioners of Fulton County. None of the members shall hold any other public office or position in Fulton County, except that one member may also be a member of the Fulton County Community Zoning Board.

Term:

The term of each member shall coincide with that of the District Commissioner who appointed the member to serve on the Board of Zoning Appeals.

Compensation: YES Stipend: \$150 per meeting

Meetings: Third Thursday of the month at 1:00 p.m. Beginning April 19, 2007, the meetings will be held in

the Auditorium of the South Annex, 5600 Stonewall Tell Road, College Park, GA 30349

Contact(s): David E. Clark, Director of Public Works

Fulton County Public Works141 Pryor Street, Suite 6001

Atlanta, Georgia 30303

404-612-2804

david.clark@fultoncountyga.gov

	MEMBER	APPOINTMENT	TERM ENDING
1	Trevor Cason	District 6 Nominated By: Commissioner Khadijah Abdur-Rahman	12/31/2024
2	Thekla Holder	District 4 Nominated By: Commissioner Joan P. Garner	12/31/2016
3	Karen C. Johnson	District 1 Nominated By: Vice- Chairman Liz Hausmann	12/31/2014
4	Victoria Rogers	District 5 Nominated By: Commissioner Marvin S. Arrington	12/31/2026
5	Carl Semien	District 7 Nominated By: Chairman John H. Eaves	12/31/2018
6	Kent Walker	District 2 Nominated By: Commissioner Bob Ellis	12/31/2024