## COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT BLOCK GRANT (CDBG) ALLOCATION PROCESS CITIZEN REVIEW PANEL

Board Established by: County

## **Description:**

A Citizen Review Panel has been incorporated into the annual Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) Allocation Process by the Board of Commissioners, to increase the level of citizen participation. The Citizen Review Panel will make recommendations for the allocation of approximately 30% of the total annual CDBG allocation. Housing and Community Development staff will evaluate projects for compliance with federal programs requirements, make preliminary recommendations to the panel, facilitate panel meetings, and provide technical assistance.

At the July 10, 2024 First Regular Meeting, the Fulton County Board of Commissioners adopted an Ordinance (#24-0488) amending Chapter 101 (General Provisions and County Governing Authority), Article 2 (County Governing Authority), Division I (Generally), to create a new Section 101-76 of the Fulton County Code of Laws to provide procedures for District and Full Board appointments to the Boards, Commissions, Taskforces, Committees, Councils and Authorities affiliated with, or operating on behalf of Fulton County, Georgia, to provide that all appointees serve at the pleasure of either the nominating Commissioner for District appointments or the Board of Commissioners for Full Board appointments.

## Membership/Appointment:

Pursuant to Resolution #15-0109, adopted by the Board of Commissioners on February 4, 2015, the appointment process for the Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) Allocation Process Citizen Review Panel consists of the following stipulations: The Community Development Block Grant Allocation Process Citizen Review Panel shall consist of fourteen (14) citizens. Each Commissioner shall appoint two (2) members from his/her district for a two (2) year term, subject to ratification by the Board of Commissioners. Such term shall not extend beyond the term set for the Commissioner who made the appointment. Panel members may be reappointed to serve additional terms.

## Term:

Two (2) years; Such terms shall not extend beyond the term set for the Commissioner who made the appointment.

Compensation: NONE Stipend:

Meetings: As called

Contact(s): Stanley Wilson- Director

Housing and Community Development

137 Peachtree Street Atlanta, Georgia 30303 (404) 612-7378

Stanley.wilson@fultoncountyga.gov

|   | MEMBER             | APPOINTMENT  | TERM ENDING |
|---|--------------------|--|-------------|
| 1 | Jarod T. Apperson  | District 7-b Nominated By: Chairman<br>John H. Eaves             | 12/31/2016  |
| 2 | . Josette T Bailey | District 6-b Nominated By:<br>Commissioner Khadijah Abdur-Rahman | 12/31/2025  |

| 3  | Marie Garrett           | District 1-b Nominated By: Vice-<br>Chairman Liz Hausmann        | 12/31/2018 |
|----|-------------------------|--|------------|
| 4  | Mary Jordan             | District 6-a Nominated By:<br>Commissioner Khadijah Abdur-Rahman | 12/31/2024 |
| 5  | Darren "Chip" R. Joyner | District 4-a Nominated By:<br>Commissioner Joan P. Garner        | 12/31/2016 |
| 6  | Sonja Ricks Mason       | District 4-b Nominated By:<br>Commissioner Joan P. Garner        | 12/31/2016 |
| 7  | Nancy Plesnarski        | District 1-a Nominated By: Vice-<br>Chairman Liz Hausmann        | 8/1/2015   |
| 8  | Bob Regus               | District 2-b Nominated By:<br>Commissioner Bob Ellis             | 12/31/2022 |
| 9  | Karen Segars            | District 2-a Nominated By:<br>Commissioner Bob Ellis             | 12/31/2022 |
| 10 | Rev. Patricia Templeton | District 3-b Nominated By:<br>Commissioner Lee Morris            | 12/31/2017 |
| 11 | Robin Washington        | District 7-a Nominated By: Chairman<br>Robert L. Pitts           | 12/31/2022 |