FULTON COUNTY CODE ENFORCEMENT BOARD

Board Established by: State

Description:

This Board was established by an Ordinance of the Board of Commissioners, June 7, 2000 (Item #00-0783) pursuant to House Bill 1206, effective July 1, 2000, that authorizes local government to create local code enforcement boards. The intent of this Board is to promote, protect, and improve the health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of unincorporated Fulton County and provide an equitable, expeditious, effective, and inexpensive method of enforcing the Fulton County Code of Laws, where pending or repeated violations exist.

Membership/Appointment:

The Board shall consist of seven (7) members, each to be appointed by the Board of Commissioners. Initial appointments shall be staggered as follows: three (3) members will be appointed for two-year terms, and four (4) members will be appointed for four-year terms. Members of the board shall be residents of Fulton County. The Board of Commissioners shall make good faith efforts to appoint one or more individuals who have experience or expertise relevant to one or more of the county codes under the jurisdiction of the Board, such as property management, engineering (structural or civil), construction, and/or law experience. The absence of such individuals from the membership of the Board shall in no way limit the authority and jurisdiction of the board.

If a Board member fails to attend two of three successive meetings without cause or without approval of the chairperson, the enforcement board shall declare the members' office vacant and ask the Board of Commissioners to promptly fill the vacancy.

Term:

Upon expiration of the initial terms specified above, all terms will be for three years.

Compensation: NONE Stipend: .54 cents per mile

Meetings: Second and fourth Tuesday of each month.

W. Wade Yates, Chief of Police Contact(s):

Fulton County Police Department 4701 Fulton Industrial Blvd

Atlanta, GA 30336

404-613-5705

william.yates@fultoncountyga.gov elaine.smith@fultoncountyga.gov

nicole.oleson@fultoncountyga.gov nicolemarie.dwyer@fultoncountyga.gov

	MEMBER	APPOINTMENT	TERM ENDING
1	Ronald D. Coleman	District 1 Nominated By: Vice- Chairman Liz Hausmann	7/1/2017
2	Elvin G. Hawkins	District 7 Nominated By: Chairman John H. Eaves	7/1/2019
3	Theresa Middlebrooks	District 4 Nominated By: Commissioner Joan P. Garner	7/1/2016

4	Reginald Tatum	District 3 Nominated By: Commissioner Robb Pitts	7/1/2016
5	CaLise Williamson	District 6 Nominated By: Commissioner Khadijah Abdur-Rahman	7/1/2026