FULTON COUNTY ARTS COUNCIL

Board Established by: County

Description:

This Board was established by a Resolution of the Board of Commissioners on October 17, 1979 (Item #9), to oversee the County's arts program. The primary function of the Council is to advise the Board in the area of the arts, to oversee generally the needs of the arts in the County and to review and channel art programs and contracts. The Council is to submit an art plan for each calendar year which will include 1) a definition of needs; 2) a solution of these needs; 3) a request for support of programs by specific contracts which would include: a) contracts with larger organizations for annual programs; b) contracts with smaller organizations for semi-annual programs. The Council shall give priority to programs which will introduce the arts to new audiences, and will insure that the enjoyment of the arts is available to all citizens of the County and most especially children, the elderly, the handicapped, and those citizens who, because of economic or other circumstances, have not had ready and regular access to the arts.

Membership/Appointment:

Pursuant to Resolution #15-0109, adopted by the Board of Commissioners on February 4, 2015, the appointment process for the Fulton County Arts Council consists of the following amendments to Item 9 of the Resolution creating the Arts Council, adopted on October 17, 1979, as codified in the Fulton County Code Sections 126-46 and 126-47:

1) The Arts Council shall be composed of fifteen (15) residents of the County.

2) Initially, each member of the board of commissioners shall appoint two persons to serve on the council, one person to serve for a one-year term and one person to serve for a two-year term. No term of any member shall extend beyond the term of the District Commissioner who appointed the member to serve on the Arts Council Board; thereafter, each year, each member of the Board of Commissioners shall appoint one member for a two-year term. Each member may continue to serve beyond his/her term until replaced.

3) The chairman of the arts council shall be appointed to a two-year term by a majority vote of the board of commissioners.

4) The council shall elect a vice-chairman and a secretary from its membership.

Term:

After the initial staggered terms, each member of the Board of Commissioners shall appoint one member for a two-year term. No term of any member shall extend beyond the term of the District Commissioner who appointed the member to serve on the Arts Council Board.

Compensation: NONE Stipend:

Meetings: Second Thursday Every Other Month

Contact(s): Dr. Pamela Roshell, Deputy Chief Operating Officer (Interim Director)

Arts & Culture 141 Pryor Street, SW Suite #2030 Atlanta Georgia 3030

Suite #2030 Atlanta, Georgia 30303 404-612-5783 pamela.roshell@fultoncountyga.gov

MEMBER	APPOINTMENT	TERM ENDING
1 Mr. Joseph Bankoff	BOC/Chair Nominated By: Full Board Appointments	12/31/2020

2	Ms. Sandy Barth	District 2-a Nominated By: Commissioner Bob Ellis	12/31/2022
3	Mr. Mark Boyd	District 4-b Nominated By: Commissioner Natalie Hall	12/31/2020
4	Mr. Collie Burnett	At-Large-b Nominated By: Chairman Robert L. Pitts	12/31/2020
5	Mr. W. Imara Canady	District 5-a Nominated By: Commissioner Marvin S. Arrington, Jr.	12/31/2021
6	Dr. Carrie Clements Johnson	District 6-a Nominated By: Commissioner Emma I. Darnell	12/31/2018
7	Ms. Jan Collins	District 2-b Nominated By: Commissioner Bob Ellis	12/31/2022
8	Ms. Joan Compton	District 1-a Nominated By: Commissioner Liz Hausmann	12/31/2020
9	Ms. Arnika Dawkins	District 5-b Nominated By: Commissioner Marvin S. Arrington, Jr.	12/31/2020
10	Mrs. Sandra DeShields-Hightower	District 6-b Nominated By: Commissioner Emma I. Darnell	12/31/2018
11	Ms. Catherine Fox	District 3-b Nominated By: Commissioner Lee Morris	12/31/2020
12	Mr. Onaje Henderson	District 4-a Nominated By: Commissioner Natalie Hall	12/31/2022
13	Ms. Pamela Smith	At-Large-a Nominated By: Chairman Robb Pitts	12/31/2021
14	Ms. Sadie Talmadge	District 3-a Nominated By: Commissioner Lee Morris	12/31/2020
15	Ms. Marie Willsey	District 1-b Nominated By: Commissioner Liz Hausmann	12/31/2020