FULTON-DEKALB HOSPITAL AUTHORITY D/B/A GRADY HEALTH SYSTEM

Board Established by: State

Description:

The Fulton-DeKalb Hospital Authority (the "Authority") is a public body, corporate and political, created by the General Assembly of the State of Georgia under the Hospital Authorities Law, originally set forth in Georgia Laws 1941, p. 24-1 et. seq., as amended, and now in O.C.G.A.* 31-7-70 et. seq., as amended, and activated by like resolutions of Fulton and DeKalb Counties. It was created for the following purposes: (1) to acquire and operate hospitals and other healthcare facilities in and for said counties; (2) to minister to the sick residents of said counties; (3) to assume the care and treatment of the indigent sick of said counties; and (4) to care for those sick or injured in emergency cases where the accident or emergency occurred within either of the counties. The Authority was created by Resolution of the Board of Commissioners, August 6, 1941, to oversee the operations of Grady Memorial Hospital and other public health facilities with a nine (9) member board. At a call meeting February 10, 1945, a motion was made to approve increasing the membership to ten (10).

Membership/Appointment:

Consists of ten (10) trustees (members). The Board of Commissioners of Fulton County appoints seven (7) trustees (members) and the Board of Commissioners of DeKalb County appoints three (3). (See Fulton County Code § 13-2-11). The Fulton County Code does not prescribe the method of appointment; however, historically, each Commissioner has appointed one person to serve.

Term:

Staggered terms of four (4) years

Compensation: NONE Stipend:

Meetings: Bi-monthly on the 4th Monday of the month

Contact(s): Beverly Register Executive Administrative Assistant The Fulton-Dekalb Hospital Authority 145 Edgewood Ave., 2nd Floor Atlanta, Georgia 30303 (404) 489-1234 FAX (404) 489-1250 bregister@thefdha.org

	MEMBER	APPOINTMENT	TERM ENDING
1	Thomas W. Dortch, III	District 6 Nominated By: Commissioner Khadijah Abdur-Rahman	12/31/2024
2	Kathryn Flowers	District 7 Nominated By: Chairman Robert L. Pitts	12/31/2026
3	Shannon A Georgecink	District 2 Nominated By: Commissioner Bob Ellis	12/31/2027
4	Alicia M. Ivey	District 5 Nominated By: Commissioner Marvin S. Arrington	12/31/2027

5	Rick Shackelford	District 3 Nominated By: Commissioner Lee Morris	12/31/2024
6	Pastor Eric V Thomas	District 4 Nominated By: Commissioner Natalie Hall	12/31/2024
7	Bernie Tokarz	District 1 Nominated By: Commissioner Bridget Thorne	12/31/2026