HOUSING AUTHORITY OF FULTON COUNTY

Board Established by: County

Description:

The Board of Commissioners of Fulton County determined that there is a need for a Housing Authority to function in and for said Fulton County, Georgia and by resolution (Item #12, Special Meeting 1/19/72), created the Housing Authority of Fulton County to oversee issues relating to housing units for low-income residents of the County. The Housing Authorities Law of the State of Georgia, Ga. Code Ann. 99-1101, et seq., creates a Housing Authority in each County of the State, and provides that such Authorities shall not transact any business or exercise its powers under said Law until or unless the governing body of the County, by resolution, shall declare that ,there is a need for such an Authority to function in said County.

Membership/Appointment:

Nine (9) members serve on this authority. Seven (7) regular members (each Commissioner appoints one person to serve) and two (2) housing resident members are appointed by the Board of Commissioners. The enabling statute calls the Housing Authority Board members "commissioners."

As provided by Ga. L. 1937, p.210, the Board of Commissioners, with the consent of the Governor, appointed (5) members. In 1982, a population statute was enacted to allow the appointment of two (2) additional lay members to the Authority and one (1) additional member who must be a resident of a housing project located within the unincorporated areas of Fulton County. In addition, the 1982 Statute allows the tenants of each housing project to submit nominations for resident members. In 1992, the Georgia General Assembly passed S.B. 585, which allows the addition of another resident member to the Housing Authority, bringing the number of resident members to two (2) and also gives these resident members full voting privileges. (See Fulton County Code 13-7-1). Recent federal law (Quality Housing and Work Responsibility Act) enacted by the U.S. Congress amended federal law and required that Public Housing Authorities have two (2) resident Commissioners. This law, which had to be implemented by passage of Georgia State Law, was passed as HB 406 in the 1999 Georgia General Assembly. Pursuant to this law, the HAFC is now required to have only two (2) resident members appointed by the Board of Commissioners.

Term:

Regular members, five (5) years. Resident members, one (1) year.

Compensation: NONE Stipend:

Meetings: Third Thursday of each month, 10:00 a.m.

Contact(s): Patricia Tyus, MBA, PHM, Executive Director Housing Authority of Fulton County 4273 Wendell Drive Atlanta, Georgia 30336 404-588-4950 (O) ext. 7001 404-472-3484 (F) ptyus@hafc.org www.hafc.org

> Breanna Smith Executive Assistant 404-588-4950 ext: 7002 bsmith@hafc.org

MEMBER	APPOINTMENT	TERM ENDING

Ms. Debra Allen	Resident Member-b Nominated By: Full Board Appointments	3/17/2019
Mr. Jerry T Brown	District 4 Nominated By: Commissioner Natalie Hall	7/13/2021
Pastor Earl Calloway	District 5 Nominated By: Commissioner Marvin S. Arrington, Jr.	7/13/2020
Mr. Stuart S. Canzeri	District 3 Nominated By: Commissioner Lee Morris	7/13/2019
Ms. Claudia E Colichon	At-Large Nominated By: Chairman Robert L. Pitts	7/13/2022
Ms. Barbara Duffy	District 2 Nominated By: Commissioner Bob Ellis	7/13/2023
Mr. James Hank Harper Jr.	Resident Member-a Nominated By: Resident Member	3/17/2019
Mr. Donald J Horton	District 1 Nominated By: Commissioner Liz Hausmann	7/13/2020
Atty. Antavius M Weems	District 6 Nominated By: Commissioner Emma I. Darnell	7/13/2022
	Mr. Jerry T Brown Pastor Earl Calloway Mr. Stuart S. Canzeri Ms. Claudia E Colichon Ms. Barbara Duffy Mr. James Hank Harper Jr. Mr. Donald J Horton	Full Board Appointments Full Board Appointments Mr. Jerry T Brown District 4 Nominated By: Commissioner Natalie Hall Pastor Earl Calloway District 5 Nominated By: Commissioner Marvin S. Arrington, Jr. Mr. Stuart S. Canzeri District 3 Nominated By: Commissioner Lee Morris Ms. Claudia E Colichon At-Large Nominated By: Commissioner Bab Ellis Ms. Barbara Duffy District 2 Nominated By: Commissioner Bob Ellis Mr. James Hank Harper Jr. Resident Member-a Nominated By: Resident Member Mr. Donald J Horton District 1 Nominated By: Commissioner Liz Hausmann Atty. Antavius M Weems District 6 Nominated By: