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DISCLAIMER: The information in this 
pamphlet is not legal advice. It is intended to 
give a general overview of the procedures and 
forms used in the Fulton County Magistrate 
Court. Consult an attorney with specific 
questions about your case. 

If the Tenant does not answer within 7 days after 
service, the Landlord may request a Writ of Possession. 

If the Landlord fails to appear, the case will be 
dismissed. 

Step 5: Mediation 

Mediation is an option for both parties and allows you 
to direct the outcome of the case by working with a 
neutral third person. If an agreement is reached, the 
case ends. 

The Court offers mediation services for free on the day 
of the hearing. If the parties cannot reach agreement, 
the case goes to trial.  

Step 6: Getting Ready for Trial 

Trial is an opportunity for both parties to present their 
evidence to a judge.  Evidence may be presented 
through documents or witness testimony. You should 
bring all people who have direct knowledge of the facts 
related to your case and any documents (the lease, 
photographs, repair bills, receipts) or other physical 
evidence you feel will help the Court better understand 
your case. The Court’s ruling will be based on the 
witnesses and evidence shown at trial. 

The Court cannot consider any statements (written or 
oral) of any person not present at trial. The person or 
witness must appear in person to testify so that the 
opposing party can cross-examine (question) them. 
There are limited exceptions when such evidence will 
be allowed. 

Step 7: Trial 

Arrive early. Immediately before court starts, the case 
manager will call the calendar. This lets the court know 
who is present. Parties who miss the call of their case 
or name run the risk of having their case dismissed or a 
judgment entered against them.  

The Landlord will present its side first, followed by the 
Tenant. You may question the witnesses and evidence. 
Any counterclaim will be heard at this time. The 
burden is on the Landlord to prove the claims on its 
Affidavit and the Tenant to prove any counterclaims. 

To win, the party must show that the weight of the evidence 
is in its favor. 

The Judge will also determine if any money for rent or other 
charges must be paid and to whom. 

Step 8: Writ for Possession 

If the Tenant loses after the hearing, the Judge will issue an 
Order granting the Landlord a writ of possession in seven (7) 
days. This gives the Tenant 7 days to vacate the property. 
This 7 day grace period is set by legislature and the Judge 
cannot change it.

Step 9: Appeal 

The Tenant has 7 days from the date of the judgment to file 
an appeal.  

To stay in the home during the appeal, Tenant  must pay the 
judgment and future rent into the registry of the Court. The 
judgment must be paid at the time of the appeal.  

The Tenant must also pay the costs to transfer the case to 
the State or Superior Court for the appeal.  

RESOURCES 

The Judges and staff of the Magistrate Court cannot 
provide legal advice . For questions, please view 
www.georgialegalaid.org/eviction or the Georgia Landlord-
Tenant Handbook, at www.dca.ga.gov/housing/
HousingDevelopment/programs/downloads/
Georgia_Landlord_Tenant_Handbook.pdf.  While these 
publications may be helpful, they should not be a substitute for legal 
advice.  

FREE OR REDUCED COST LEGAL ASSISTANCE: 
Atlanta Legal Aid Society,  www.atlantalegalaid.org 
Georgia Legal Services Program, www.glsp.org 
Atlanta Volunteer Lawyers Foundation, avlf.org  

HOUSING COURT ASSISTANCE CENTER 
Tenants seeking legal assistance in filing their answer can 
meet with an attorney or law student practitioner under the 
supervision of an attorney.  The Center is located in the 
Magistrate Court Clerk’s Office in TG-100. 

Bring any helpful documents such as your lease, any written 
notice from your Landlord, and any evidence of your 
counterclaims. 



When a Landlord wants a Tenant to move out of a 
rental property and the Tenant will not move voluntarily, 
the Landlord must come to court to use the 
dispossessory process for an Order to remove the 
Tenant from the property.  

This pamphlet is for the Tenant, the individual or entity 
the Landlord is seeking to remove from his property. 
The Tenant should note whether they are the proper 
person to the action.  The Tenant may choose:  to 
answer, to answer and file a counterclaim or to not 
answer.   

THE BASICS 

Before filing a case, the Landlord must make sure: 

x The property is located in Fulton County;
x The Tenant was requested to give up possession of

the property and leave;
x A Landlord-Tenant relationship exists:

x A Landlord/Tenant relationship occurs by: (1) a
written lease; (2) an oral lease; (3) being a “Tenant at
will”, that is, the Tenant occupies the rental without
a written lease with the Landlord’s consent and pays
rent; or (4) being a “hold over Tenant,” which is
when the Tenant remains on the property after the
end of  the lease.

x The Landlord is the property owner; or
x If an agent is used, the agent completes the Rule 31

form, allowing the agent to act on the owner’s
behalf;

x The Landlord has not attempted any form of self-
help eviction, such as changing the locks,
threatening the Tenant, or suspending utility
services.  These acts are illegal and may subject the
Landlord to a counterclaim for damages by the
Tenant.

E-FILING

The Court requires parties to electronically file (E-File) 
documents into the Court’s case management system. 
You can register for e-filing at www.odysseyefilega.com. 
The Clerk’s office, located in Suite TG-100 in the Justice 
Center Tower, has public access terminals which allow 

you to e-file for free. If you file elsewhere, there is a fee. The 
Court’s website has a link to check the status of your case. 

LANDLORD-TENANT PROCEDURE 

Step 1: File Dispossessory Affidavit 

Where the Tenant has not paid rent or has otherwise 
breached the lease and refuses to give up possession, the 
Landlord must file a “Dispossessory Affidavit” to remove 
the Tenant.  

x The affidavit must be notarized with a signature and seal
under oath OR sworn or affirmed by a deputy clerk.
The affidavit must: (1) state the property is located in
Fulton County; (2) list the exact address; (3) name each
Tenant; (4) identify the reason why the Tenant should
be moved (i.e. nonpayment of rent or breach of lease).

x On its website, the Court offer the Free Form
generator, an interactive website to help guide you in
writing your affidavit.

x The Landlord can request the Court require the Tenant
pay the cost of filing and serving this action.

Step 2: Service 

The Tenant must be served with a copy of the dispossessory 
warrant. Service may occur: 

x Personally, on the Tenant (s);
x By being  left with a person over 18 years  of age  at the

Tenant’s residence; or
x After attempting personal service, by  tacking a copy of

the affidavit to the Tenant’s door AND mailing the
Tenant a copy.  This is tack and mail service.

Step 3: Tenant’s Answer 

An Answer is a Tenant’s legal reply to the Landlord’s 
dispossessory affidavit. Within 7 days of being served, the 
Tenant must efile an answer to the eviction papers or 
lose the right to challenge the removal in court. The last 
day to Answer should be written on the eviction paperwork.  

If the Tenant does not efile an answer, the Landlord may 
request to remove the Tenant on the eighth (8th) day. When 
the Tenant efiles an answer, the court will set a date for a 

hearing. In the answer, the Tenant must admit or deny 
the Landlord’s claims and  list any defenses or 
counterclaims for damages.  

Inability to pay rent due to illness, lost job or 
other financial hardship is not a defense to 
eviction.  

If this is the first time in 12 months a Tenant has been 
served, a Tenant may avoid being evicted by paying all 
monies owed plus the costs of the dispossessory 
warrant Zithin 7 days of being served. 

If the Landlord accepts the payment, the Tenant must 
file an answer stating money was offered and accepted. 

If Landlord refuses to accept payment, the Tenant 
should efile an answer stating money was offered, but 
refused.  

If a court finds that a Landlord refused a proper offer 
of money, the court can order the Landlord to accept 
payment of rent, late fees and court costs and require 
that the Landlord allow the Tenant to remain in 
possession, if the payment is made within 3 days of the 
court's order.  

5epair and 'educt �&ounterclaim� 

Landlords have a duty to make repairs which result 
from normal wear and tear.  The Tenant cannot 
withhold rent, but Georgia Courts recognize a 
Tenant’s right to repair and deduct.   

When a Landlord fails to respond to a repair request, 
the Tenant can hire a competent repair person to 
perform the  repairs. The cost must be reasonable, and 
the Tenant may deduct the cost from the rent. In 
order to use this counterclaim, put your request in 
writing, keep all receipts and invoices, hire licensed 
workers, and perform only needed repairs, not 
upgrades. 

Step 4: Default 

If the Tenant fails to appear, the court may grant 
Judgment in the Landlord's favor.   


