Georgia Sex Offender Registry Code O.C.G.A. 42-1-12

- (e) Registration pursuant to this Code section shall be required by any individual who:
- (1) Is convicted on or after July 1, 1996, of a criminal offense against a victim who is a minor;
- (2) Is convicted on or after July 1, 1996, of a dangerous sexual offense;
- (3) Has previously been convicted of a criminal offense against a victim who is a minor and may be released from prison or placed on parole, supervised release, or probation on or after July 1, 1996;
- (4) Has previously been convicted of a sexually violent offense or dangerous sexual offense and may be released from prison or placed on parole, supervised release, or probation on or after July 1, 1996;
- (5) Is a resident of Georgia who intends to reside in this state and who is convicted under the laws of another state or the United States, under the Uniform Code of Military Justice, or in a tribal court of a sexually violent offense, a criminal offense against a victim who is a minor on or after July 1, 1999, or a dangerous sexual offense on or after July 1, 1996;
- (6) Is a nonresident who changes residence from another state or territory of the United States or any other place to Georgia who is required to register as a sexual offender under federal law, military law, tribal law, or the laws of another state or territory or who has been convicted in this state of a criminal offense against a victim who is a minor or any dangerous sexual offense;
- (7) Is a nonresident sexual offender who enters this state for the purpose of employment or any other reason for a period exceeding 14 consecutive days or for an aggregate period of time exceeding 30 days during any calendar year regardless of whether such sexual offender is required to register under federal law, military law, tribal law, or the laws of another state or territory; or
- (8) Is a nonresident sexual offender who enters this state for the purpose of attending school as a full-time or part-time student regardless of whether such sexual offender is required to register under federal law, military law, tribal law, or the laws of another state or territory.

- (f) Any sexual offender required to register under this Code section shall: (1) Provide the required registration information to the appropriate official before being released from prison or placed on parole, supervised release, or probation;
- (2) Register in person with the sheriff of the county in which the sexual offender resides within **72 hours** after the sexual offender's release from prison or placement on parole, supervised release, probation, or entry into this state;
- (2.1) In the case of a sexual offender whose place of residence is the status of homelessness, in lieu of the requirements of paragraph (2) of this subsection, register in person with the sheriff of the county in which the sexual offender sleeps within 72 hours after the sexual offender's release from prison or placement on parole, supervised release, probation, or entry into this state and provide the location where he or she sleeps;
- (3) Maintain the required registration information with the sheriff of each county in which the sexual offender resides or sleeps;
- (4) Renew the required registration information with the sheriff of the county in which the sexual offender resides or sleeps by reporting in person to the sheriff within 72 hours prior to such offender's birthday each year to be photographed and fingerprinted;
- (5) Update the required registration information with the sheriff of the county in which the sexual offender resides within 72 hours of any change to the required registration information, other than where he or she resides or sleeps if such person is homeless. If the information is the sexual offender's new address, the sexual offender shall give the information regarding the sexual offender's new address to the sheriff of the county in which the sexual offender last registered within 72 hours prior to any change of address and to the sheriff of the county to which the sexual offender is moving within 72 hours prior to establishing such new address. If the sexual offender is homeless and the information is the sexual offender's new sleeping location, within 72 hours of changing sleeping locations, the sexual offender shall give the information regarding the sexual offender's new sleeping location to the sheriff of the county in which the sexual offender last registered, and if the county has changed, to the sheriff of the county to which the sexual offender has moved; and
- (6) Continue to comply with the registration requirements of this Code section for the entire life of the sexual offender, excluding ensuing periods of incarceration.
- (g) A sexual offender required to register under this Code section may petition to be released from the registration requirements and from the residency or employment restrictions of this Code section in accordance with the provisions of Code Section 42-1-19.

(h) (1) The appropriate official or sheriff shall, within 72 hours after receipt of the required registration information, forward such information to the Georgia Bureau of Investigation. Once the data is entered into the Criminal Justice Information System by the appropriate official or sheriff, the Georgia Crime Information Center shall notify the sheriff of the sexual offender's county of residence, either permanent or temporary, the sheriff of the county of employment, and the sheriff of the county where the sexual offender attends an institution of higher education within 24 hours of entering the data or any change to the data.