Marriage Licenses

Licenses and Certificates

Marriage Licenses

Marriage Licenses

Marriage licenses are issued by the Fulton County Probate Court under the laws of the state of Georgia. Learn more about the marriage license process below.

Step 1: Where to Go

  • If one or both persons to be married are residents of Georgia you may apply for a marriage license in any county in Georgia. If neither applicant is a resident of Georgia you must apply for the marriage license in the county where the ceremony is to be held.
  • If you are eligible to apply for your marriage license in Fulton County you may apply at any one of the three Probate Court locations between the hours of 8:30 a.m. and 4 p.m.

Step 2: What to bring

  • Proof of age. You must be 18 years of age to apply for a marriage license. Both applicants must be present at the time of application. You will be asked to provide proof of your age.The following documents are considered “proof of age” pursuant to O.C.G.A. §19-3-36: “birth certificate, driver's license, baptismal certificate, certificate of birth registration, selective service card, court record, passport, immigration papers, alien papers, citizenship papers, armed forces discharge papers, armed forces identification card, or hospital admission card containing the full name and date of birth.”
  • Proof of divorce. If one or both applicants are divorced they need to know their date of divorce. If a divorce was granted for either party within 30 days of applying for a marriage license, then the party must provide a copy of the divorce decree.
  • Death of a prior spouse. If either applicant is a widow/widower they must provide the date of death of the deceased spouse on their application.
  • Payment. The Court accepts cash, money orders (in exact amount) and credit cards. No bills larger than $20 are accepted for cash transactions. The basic fee for a marriage license is $56. The fee is reduced to $16 if you have completed a qualifying premarital education program and provide the Court with certification of completion at the time of application. The requirements for the premarital education program may be found at O.C.G.A. §19-3-30.1.
    Certified copies of the marriage certificate and application are $10 each in addition to the application fee. If you would like the copies to be mailed to you, you must provide a self-addressed, stamped envelope.

Step 3: additional information

Return Completed License After Ceremony

After the marriage ceremony is performed, the officiant must complete the marriage license. The license should be returned to the Probate Court as soon as possible but no later than 30 days after the ceremony.

Fulton County probate court

locations

probate court

north service center

south service center