About Fulton County


Fulton County

 Fulton County

Fulton County was formed from DeKalb County in 1853, and then consolidated with Milton and Campbell Counties in 1932. That's why it has such an unusual, elongated shape. Of Georgia's 159 counties, Fulton County was the 144th to be created.

The Fulton name honors Robert Fulton, the inventor who built the Clermont, the first commercially successful steamboat, in 1807.


Natural Resources
Fulton County lies in north-central Georgia in the foothills of the Appalachian mountains. The warm southern climate produces plentiful hardwood and pine forests, making the area a beautiful place to live.

Fulton County encompasses 528.7 square miles, and stretches over 70 miles from one end to the other. North Fulton includes the cities of Sandy Springs, Alpharetta, Roswell, and Mountain Park. South Fulton includes the suburban cities of College Park, East Point, Fairburn, Hapeville, Palmetto, City of South Fulton and Union City. The City of Atlanta lies between them.

The Chattahoochee River, the source of drinking water for most of Fulton County, is one of the smallest water sources in the country relative to the size of the population it supports. The "Hooch" runs out of the north Georgia mountains, bringing with it plentiful trout.



latest news

14 - Nov

Fulton County Board of Registration and Elections Certifies Election Results from November Balloting

During its November 12, 2019 Board meeting, the Fulton County Board of Registration & Elections certified the results of the November 5, 2019 General Municipal Election.
Read More
13 - Nov

Officials Break Ground for New Hapeville Library

On Wednesday, October 13, officials from Fulton County and the City of Hapeville broke ground on the new Hapeville Library, which is part of the Library Capital Program.
Read More
See All News

sign up And

stay connected

Sign up for Fulton County's weekly email newsletter #OneFulton. See topic news stories and events from all County Departments.